top of page

Important Information on the October 12, 2014, World Trade Center Victim Compensation Fund Deadline

LBA NEWS, Vol. XXIV, No. 2, May-August 2014

The official publication of the Lieutenants Benevolent Association "Leaders of the Finest"

The second Zadroga filing period is rapidly coming to a close.  This deadline applies to all MOS and other first responders and survivors who have been diagnosed with any 9/11-related eligible cancer (other than Prostate Cancer) on or before October 12, 2012, and who have not already registered or filed a claim with the World Trade Center Victim Compensation Fund. 

Eligible persons diagnosed with Prostate Cancer have until the later of October 21, 2015, or two years after their diagnosis, to register with the Fund.  MOS who have been diagnosed with any non-cancer WTC-related condition must register with the Fund within 2 years of their diagnosis in order to preserve their eligibility.  In all cases, claims must be filed before October 3, 2016, when the Fund closes.

We would also like to take the opportunity to update the LBA membership on VCF claim statistics recently provided by the Fund.  So far, there are over 54 thousand complete registrations, including 15,600 completed eligibility forms, and 3,538 completed compensation forms, of which 1,145 have been decided (including 1,007 first responders).  The average award (before proration) is now $281,627.03, with a total value of $322,462,945.21 awarded.  The maximum award so far is $4,133,466.00, and the minimum award is $10,000.00.

Claims can be filed for both Economic and Non-economic losses. Economic Loss means any monetary loss resulting from harm (including the loss of earnings or other benefits related to employment, medical expense loss, replacement services loss, loss due to death, burial costs, and loss of business or employment opportunities) to the extent recovery for such loss is allowed under applicable State law. Non-economic Loss means losses for physical and emotional pain, suffering, inconvenience, physical impairment, mental anguish, disfigurement, loss of enjoyment of life, loss of society and companionship, loss of consortium (other than loss of domestic service) hedonic damages, injury to reputation, and all other non-pecuniary losses of any kind or nature.

Those who are eligible to register should visit the WTC Victims Compensation Fund web site at  As a service to LBA members, our office is available to represent LBA members with claims or to assist with other disability issues. We may be reached at (212) 766-5800.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page