September 11th

Victim Compensation Fund

The James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act


General Information


We have been receiving steadily increasing inquiries regarding the January 2, 2011, enactment of H.R. 847, otherwise known as The James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act. As a service to the reader, we are providing you with a preliminary summary of the act’s relevant provisions.

The Zadroga Act, which reopens the Victims Compensation Fund of 2001, provides $4.2 billion dollars to finance two important benefits:

1. Continued Health care monitoring and treatment and;
2. Compensation to Members of Service or the relatives of deceased Members of Service who were physically injured or killed as a result of 9/11.

Sheila Birnbaum has been appointed Special Master, by the U.S. Attorney General. The Special Master is responsible for administering the fund, processing claims and promulgating regulations. Until such regulations and procedures go into effect, no claim can be filed (the fund opened in October 2011). However, the Act does provide information on coverage:



WHO: Workers, volunteers, and certain residents who suffered exposures during the terrorist attacks and subsequent rescue and recovery operations.
WHAT: The development of serious, physical ailments which may include: Asthma, COPD, Interstitial Lung Disease, Asbestosis, certain Cancers, Chronic Sinusitis, Chronic Rhinitis, GERD, Sleep Apnea and Birth Defects.
WHEN: 4 Hours in first 4 days; 1 Day in September of 2001; or 80 hours between 9/11/2001 & 7/31/2002.
WHERE: In lower Manhattan, (south of Canal), the Staten Island Landfill or Barges and Piers.
HOW: Treatment: The Zadroga Act requires treatment by medical professionals for 9/11 related physical injuries within a reasonable time from the date of discovery and which is supported by contemporaneous medical evidence.


Time Periods Within Which Claims must Be Filed 


The Zadroga Act divides those who can file into two groups to be determined by the Special Master:


  • Group 1: Individuals who knew or should have known that they suffered a physical harm as a result of 9/11 BEFORE the date the new regulations are promulgated - such individuals will have two years from the date new rules are promulgated by the Special Master in which to file a claim.


  • Group 2: Individuals who become aware of a physical harm as a result of 9/11 AFTER the date new rules are promulgated by the Special Master - such individuals will have two years form the date the Special Master determines that such individual knew or should have known that they suffered from such harm and were eligible to file a claim.

IN ALL CIRCUMSTANCES CLAIMS ARE TO BE FILED DURING THE FIVE YEARS from the date the new rules are promulgated.


Pending and Future Civil Claims 


This Fund was established as an alternative to litigation and requires that individuals who wish to file a claim, waive their right to file a future civil action for damages as a result of 9/11 in Federal or State court. The Zadroga Act also makes provisions for those who previously commenced civil actions during the years since the Victims Compensation Fund closed (December 2003) in two ways:


  • Pending Actions: Individuals with pending claims may not submit a claim under this act unless they withdraw from such action within 90 days from the date that regulations are established.


  • Settled Actions: Such individuals may not submit a claim unless such action was commenced AFTER 12/22/2003 and a release of all claims in the action was tendered prior to the date on which the Zadroga Act was enacted.




Claims can be filed for both Economic and Non-economic losses. 


  • Economic Loss means any pecuniary loss resulting from harm (including the loss of earnings or other benefits related to employment, medical expense loss, replacement services loss, loss due to death, burial costs, and loss of business or employment opportunities) to the extent recovery for such loss is allowed under applicable State law.

  • Non-economic Loss means losses for physical and emotional pain, suffering, inconvenience, physical impairment, mental anguish, disfigurement, loss of enjoyment of life, loss of society and companionship, loss of consortium (other than loss of domestic service) hedonic damages, injury to reputation, and all other non-pecuniary losses of any kind or nature.


The Special Master in determining award values, shall consider Collateral Source compensation, which may include life insurance, pension benefits, death benefits, and payments by Federal, State, or local governments related to 9/11, or prior civil claim awards.


Capped Legal Fees

The Zadroga Act has prudently established that attorney fees for representation in connection with such claims will be capped at 10%.


This information is not meant to cover every situation.  It is a general statement regarding the Zadroga Act and is not to be used as a substitute for specific legal advice from an attorney.  For additional information, contact us for a no-cost consultation.